Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

March 20, 2023

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chair Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Chellie Pingree Ranking Member Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Simpson and Ranking Member Pingree:

We are writing to express our support for the State and Tribal Wildlife Grants (STWG) program. We appreciate your past support and are hopeful that your support will continue. We believe that the STWG program is an important investment needed to sustain our nation's fish and wildlife. In fiscal year 2023, \$73.8 million was appropriated for the program to conserve fish and wildlife in the 56 states, territories, and District of Columbia, and on tribal lands. We ask that you allocate robust funding for this important, time-tested program for fiscal year 2024.

The STWG program provides states, territories, the District of Columbia, and Indian tribes with the resources they need to implement proactive and effective wildlife conservation actions aimed at keeping wildlife from becoming endangered. It is a mission-critical element of Department of the Interior's budget, as no other program is focused on this goal. As you know, states bear the primary responsibility for wildlife management, and since the 1930's the federal government has worked in partnership with the states to fund successful conservation programs that ensure sustainability of the fish and wildlife species enjoyed by all Americans.

We urge the Subcommittee on Interior, Environment, and Related Agencies to provide the highest appropriation possible for the STWG program in fiscal year 2024 so that these important conservation efforts can expand to prevent more fish and wildlife from becoming endangered. Thank you for your consideration of our request.

Sincerely,

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

<u>Nanette Diaz Barragán</u> Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

ardend on

Tony Øárdenas Member of Congress

Jake Auchincloss Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

na

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Summe

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

OUIN CASTRO

Joaquin Castro Member of Congress

N. Culli

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

on Crow

Member of Congress

udy Chu ' Chu Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

Ga

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Madelune Stean Madeleine Dean

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

785

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick// Member of Congress

Paus Dolate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

bar

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

- hva-

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Febrer

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Bill Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Mis Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congres

Jenniffer González-Colón

Member of Congress

Paul M

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress Chair, Committee on Natural Resources

James A. Himes Member of Congress

19

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Golden Jared Golden

Member of Congress

DIN

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

akana Hayes

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Honf

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Umosy Houkhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Lared Huffman Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

ed W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Hadom

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Kenting

William R. Keating Member of Congress

k Laner

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Zee Lofgren Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch

Member of Congress

hon's y hatsui Q

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Mariannette G Mieles Marken Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

Terrold Hadler

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

nay MCBar

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Face I Napolitano

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress

Victuara D

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress , Committee on Ways and Means

Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

anetta nmy Member of Congress

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

se

Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Page 9

Bill Posey

Member of Congress

Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D. Member of Congress

Tinde J. Sai

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

6 Pasti

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

८०० প

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Adam B. Schiff Member of Congress

Page 10

hru

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Pete Stauber Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

2

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Page 11

Laskeda flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

d. Danies

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Pauls.tonlo

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasey Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Scal

David Scott Member of Congress

Page 12

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Mike Kelly

Mike Kelly Member of Congress

Hansbrin

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

- Amiter

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

Michael V. Lawle

Member of Congress

1 artl 2MV

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

asar Member of Congress

Rosi XKelle

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Page 13

<

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson Member of Congress

chalm Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

lage Member of Congress

bara

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Lloyd Smucker Member of Congress

mistophen R. Va

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Katie Porter Member of Congress

Christopher H. Smith Member of Congress

umila U

Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen Member of Congress

Sail I Bully Canter

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski

Ilalo

Nick LaLota Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

the

Hillary KScholten Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters Member of Congress

than L. Jackso

Vember of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" See Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

is C Mollain

Lisa C. McClain Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress